Netbook: Ubuntu 10.04 release candidate

For the past week, I’ve been using the release candidate for 10.04.  Today I read that the update manager will automatically give me 10.04 final when it’s released.

Doesn’t this take the wind out of the big countdown?  If the final version is just incrementally different from the beta version, then Ubuntu is released continuously instead of in big milestone releases twice a year.

Honestly though, the version I’m running uses normal Gnome windows and menus, not the netbook-specific application launcher.  So at least I’ve got that to look forward to.  Also, this release candidate came without Java installed and without the Broadcom driver for wireless internet.   From these senses, it’s less of a complete consumer product than the 09.10 netbook remix.

No comments yet

Leave a comment